Uncategorized

There is Success in Every Failure

SuccessFailure-300x201I was listening to the radio a few weeks ago and heard a commercial for another channel.  The commercial was for a program that would be interviewing successful women.  That made me wonder who would those successful women be and would their successes be defined by their job or what society thinks is successful.  How exactly would we measure success, and doesn’t it mean something different to each individual?  So I began to contemplate what success means to me.

Society tells us that we can judge our success by how many things we have and how important of a job we have.  For me, neither of those is very important.  I have a roof over my head, food to eat, clothes to wear, and a car to get around in.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I like nice things, but I don’t think my success in life is based on my ability to purchase items.  The Bible even warns us of the pitfalls of having too many things and not sharing our riches with others.  I also don’t have a powerful job.  I work in the church and, even though I love what I do, I don’t think they will be calling to interview me.

I recently read a reflection piece which said that each of us has a unique mission in life.  The author went on to say that no one can take our place and complete our mission, and it is vital that we complete our mission.  Well, if I’m not sure what that mission is, how will I know if I am successful?  With a lot of prayer, I think we can all figure out what God’s plan is for our lives.  Here is what my thoughts and prayers on success led me to:  I am completely confident that I was placed where I am to be a wife and mother.  Now I haven’t always been successful, and there have been more failures than successes in trying to raise two daughters.  However, I am sure that nothing would bring me greater joy.

The problem with my measure of success is that it wasn’t an easy one to fulfill.  Like many others, pregnancy wasn’t easy for me.  There were many more failed attempts than successes, including two miscarriages.  However, as I look back on them now, with both of those pregnancies, there were successes.  With my first miscarriage, I was given the gift of faith.  I had never realized the unbelievable amount of faith and trust in God that I have.  So, what felt like one of my saddest failures, turned out to give me the gift of igniting my faith.  With my second miscarriage, I had to be rushed into surgery which ended up fixing my infertility problems.  Had I not had the miscarriage and subsequent surgery, we may not be blessed with my second daughter.  It would have been impossible at the time to see any success in what was happening, but I sure can see now the blessings they brought to my life.

One of the most difficult things to do is to realize that we are not in charge of our successes and failures.  If we hand our lives over to God to handle, and follow His plan, we will receive the successes we seek in life.  By doing this, we have nothing to worry about.  If we just let go, and follow God’s plans the Bible tells us that our lives will be full of successes.  Will we never fail?  We will fail because God has given us free will.  However, we will find much more joy in life, in our successes, and even in our failures with God in charge of our plan.

prosper

Leave a Reply

