Motherhood · Prayer

Cause of Our Joy

our-ladyWe embark on a new year! It is not coincidental that January 1st is the Solemnity of Mary, the Holy Mother of God; and this is a significant Marian year.

She is the Star of the Sea, the Cause of Our Joy, the New Eve.

As 2016 came to a close, I challenged myself with staying off of social media. I personally enjoy fasting this way throughout the year. Even the brief time I kept off aided me in becoming more intimate with Christ. It also helped me focus on my relationship with our Blessed Mother.

The Blessed Virgin Mary is the most powerful intercessor in getting us to her Son, our Lord Jesus Christ. She is at constant battle, defending and protecting us from evil.

But the earth came to the help of a woman; it opened its mouth and swallowed the river that the dragon had poured from his mouth. Then the dragon was angry with the woman, and went off to make war on the rest of her children, those who keep the commandments of God and hold the testimony of Jesus. ~ Rev 12:16-17

She truly is the Queen of Heaven and a loving mother to us all. We should feel so blessed that her Fiat, her Yes to God, meant that we would all be saved. Ponder on what Jesus thinks of her as His Mother!

Never be afraid of loving the Blessed Virgin too much. You can never love her more than Jesus did. ~ St. Maximilian Kolbe

Imagine yourself as a child. As you totter on your way to a toy, you begin to fall. Unbeknownst to you, your loving mother was behind you, and she gracefully catches you to keep you safe from harm.  Just as a mother gently guides her child, to prevent them from danger and to direct their path, so does our heavenly Mother. She is pure and she is here for all God’s children. She is forever honoring her role as Mother to us all, simply because Jesus told her to.

When Jesus saw His mother and the disciple whom He loved standing beside her, He said to His mother, ‘Woman, here is your son.’ Then He said to the disciple, ‘Here is your mother.’ And from that hour the disciple took her into his own home. ~ John 19:26-27

Jesus gave us His Mother as one of His last words on the cross. This is extremely important to realize, because the fastest way to get to God is, in fact, through His Mother.

We never give more honour to Jesus than when we honour His Mother, and we honour her simply and solely to honour Him all the more perfectly. We go to her only as a way leading to the goal we seek – Jesus, her Son. ~ St. Louis de Montfort

Many miracles have happened throughout the centuries with Mary’s appearances. One of the most significant was in Fatima, Portugal, in 1917. You can learn more here if you’d like the whole story.

This marks the 100th anniversary of an immense miracle, of great prophecy, and an important message during the 20th century. Our Lady of Fatima has continued her Fiat to God through obedience, prayers, and sorrows.

She is Mother most Admirable, Mother of Good Counsel, Mother of our Savior.

The Blessed Virgin Mary sets an incredible example for women. By imitating her virtues, we as women can truly be feminine in all ways. We have a God-given maternal instinct that is necessary in this day in age.

Through Elizabeth Ministry, as ministers, we practice the ten virtues of Mary: Most Pure (Mt 1:18, 20, 23; Lk 1:27, 34); Most Prudent (Lk 2:19, 51); Most Humble (Lk 1:48); Most Faithful (Lk 1:45; Jn 2:5); Most Devout (Lk 1:46-47; Acts 1:14); Most Obedient (Lk 1:38; 2:21-22, 27); Most Poor (Lk 2:7); Most Patient (Jn 19:25); Most Merciful (Lk 1:39, 56); Most Sorrowful (Lk 2:35). (sourcehttp://battlebeads.com/10virtuesmary1.html ).

To imitate her virtues, we need not have a degree in philosophy or theology. We simply need a willful spirit, a contrite heart, and a love for Jesus Christ. When we visit with a fellow woman in need we evangelize in relation to the Visitation.

I prefer to learn from St. Therese the Little Flower, a Doctor of the Church, to absorb what it means to honor my Heavenly Father and Mother.

To ask something to the Blessed Virgin is not the same as to ask something of God. She knows well what to do with all my little desires and it is for her to decide whether to ask for them or not. 

How often I’ve prayed to God that He would do something, or change a situation, or bring a difference into my life. How often my prayers have been answered in a way I hadn’t expected. However, when I ask for my Heavenly Mother’s intercession, I am guided in a more spiritual way to pray well. I know when I do not ask for her guidance with my prayers, I tend to become spoiled with my requests. I can focus on humility, prudence, and most importantly, my faith in Jesus Christ. After all, no one can have a better faith in Him than Mary.

This year brings new opportunities for us to strive to become the very best version of ourselves. I have been practicing mortification and learning more about myself with the decisions I am making, through the aid of my Mystical Rose. Through consecrating my heart to Jesus through Mary, I am growing more and more.

Will you join me?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

