grandparenthood · Motherhood · Relationships

Titus 2 Part 2: Why I’m Grateful for the Active Elders in my Life

Grandparents laughing with grandchildren

I strongly feel that God is raising up an army of older women to help form this generation. Like me when I was young, there are many young women have not been formed in their faith. They go to church weekly, but our one, holy, catholic, apostolic, faith has not yet sunk its’ roots down deep into their souls. Some do not have the basic skills of everyday life as a domestic wife, though they wish they did. Since they are not strong in their faith they cannot pass our Catholic faith on down to their children. No one can give what they do not have. All of this used to be me!

As a young mother, I was a candidate for both. I had never diapered a baby or washed a dish, well not clean a dish enough to see my face in it. My mom was a Proverbs 31 woman in the household chores, domestically she could do it all, but she did not teach her offspring or pass her domestic genius down to anyone. Unfortunately, she did not know her faith either, so she could not instruct us in the faith. Mom was from the generation that did not even read the bible and she never went to Rite of Christian Initiation (RCIA). To her credit, mom faithfully went to church and followed along with blind faith. I for one was thankful that my parents sent us to Catholic schools. The nuns came to the rescue, planting seeds of faith deep in my soul that grew into a harvest.

I look back on my life with a grateful heart. I am in awe of what the Lord has done for me. I am amazed at the miraculous transformation. Originally, I was an unskilled wife and mother. However, through the teachings and example of many Titus II Women in my life that took time with me, I learned how to be a godly wife and mother, and how to take care of the ways of my household. I felt called to be at home and so I embraced my calling and passed both the faith and the domestic skills down to my children. Now as a part of the Titus II Crew I embrace the role of teaching the next generation. Proverbs 22:6 instructs us to “train the young in the way they should go; even when old, they will not swerve from it.” What an enormous responsibility we have, women. We are raising up an army for God, so train them well. This is probably the most important job you will ever do.

I’m certain that Elizabeth, Mary’s kinswoman, was a Titus II woman. Mary could have been stoned to death for being pregnant and only betrothed and she likely had many fears. When Elizabeth affirms God’s care for Mary, however, and names her title as being Mother of God when she says, “Blessed are you among women and blessed is the fruit of your womb. And how does this happen to me that the mother of my Lord should come to me?” (Luke 1:42-43) Mary’s fears are calmed and she proclaims her Magnificat. Elizabeth’s words to her help her believe that all ages will call her blessed. Perhaps Zechariah’s example of going against the cultural expectation and keeping Elizabeth as his wife, even though she was barren, was a help to Joseph as well as he decided not to expose Mary to shame and also decided to take Mary into his home.

I will never forget the day God began the calling on my life to be a part of the Titus II Crew. I was not anxious to walk through that door. I paused, I peeked in, and I prayed. Instead of getting on board, I ran away. I said to the Lord Jesus, I do not even know what to do. Instead of begging Him with, “Teach me, Lord! I shouted in frustration, “Jesus, I never want to be an older woman.” I complained to the Lord. He did not respond. He knew that no one can do anything on their own. My lack was His opportunity to show Himself big in my life. This inability to step into the shoes of an older woman opened the door to God’s grace.

One day, my best friend came over for some wise counsel. As she opened her heart to me, I quickly realized I was under qualified. I lacked the wisdom she needed. I could not help her. My solution was to call a sister in Christ who had the gifts, the wisdom and the heart for helping to heal a wounded soldier who was crying out for help. This older women applied the mercy of God along with an encouraging word which came from the heart of God. This was the catalyst that God used to bring a healing in the heart of my friend. She needed to be carried down from the roof to encounter Jesus. The Titus II Woman was strong enough to know what to do. She took the time to care and be there.

On this day I began to discover that one’s journey leads a person to his or her ministry. My journey with Jesus has grown my heart in understanding, taught me how to apply God’s Word, and bestowed upon me the gifts needed to place my feet into the shoes of an older woman. Now, years later I walk in the footsteps of those who have gone before me in the role of a “Titus II Woman for the Body of Christ. Wherever Jesus leads, I follow. St. Catherine instructs us to, “Bring people to Jesus and Jesus to people. I have become strong enough to carry those God sends my way, down from the roof to Jesus. A Titus II Woman” will always lead the people God sends her to Jesus.

Leave a Reply

