Prayer

God, Transform Me

I was listening to a Matthew Kelly talk one afternoon as I drove home with my “work hat” on.  Out of no where God was speaking to my life right at that moment.

Kelly said, “The Bible has the power to transform our lives.  God wants to transform you.  God wants to transform your life. Too often when we pray, we ask God to tweak things.  Our prayers aren’t being answered, because God is not in the business of tweaking.  God’s in the business of transforming.  If you want to see something incredible, ask God to transform you and your life.”

I wondered if I ever prayed for God to transform my life.  I certainly have asked God to change my heart to be more like his.  I have asked for the strength and courage to be transformed.  I know I have been transformed by the grace of God, but I don’t think I’ve ever prayed that simple (but huge) prayer of, “God transform me and my life.”

There are many areas in my life that need transforming.  Some need me to step up and take action.  “Nothing changes until it changes,” rings throughout my mind.   In other areas I am waiting on God hoping he will show me his will.  There is no better time to pray to be transformed when you’re not living the life you want…when you are not your best self.

I can’t imagine some of life’s decisions without God guiding me through the Holy Spirit.  It can be exciting and scary at the same time.  It is uncomfortable waiting on God and discerning what will be next.  Sometimes it feels like I am standing at a fork in the road looking at a path that becomes divided.  I can’t see far enough ahead to know what each path is going to look like.  Perhaps we know which way is the right way; it’s just a matter of stepping into it with the fear.  A few times in my life, after listening and waiting on God, there was this constant peace…not a direct answer, just peace.  To me God was saying, “You won’t go wrong either way.  You will please me no matter what path you choose.”

Life is too short to not live in the joy God has waiting for you.

Reflective Questions:

  1. Have you ever asked God to transform you and your life?  If not, what is holding you back? (worry, fear, criticism, laziness, etc.)
  2. Are you open to God transforming you/your life?
  3. Are you playing it safe by staying in the comfortable?
  4. What would your life look like if there weren’t limitations?

 

Dear Lord,

Open up my heart to you.

Help me to trust you and your plans for my life.

Transform me.

Amen.

 

 

photo credit: Kevin Krebs Crooked Path (45/50) via photopin (license)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

